A Foray into Pokémon Go

If you haven’t heard of Pokémon Go, it’s a digital app that uses your device’s GPS to map out your world and spawn Pokémon. You can visit different places to find additional items or different types of Pokémon, eventually battling other trainers at Gyms in your local area.

When I was younger, the first game I ever got for my GameBoy Color was Pokémon Red, my brother getting Blue at the same time. My fondest memory of that game is still battling him over link cable with a specially designed Chansey (Icebeam, Softboiled, Minimize, and one other ability that may have been Light Screen). See, Special wasn’t split into offense and defense, so that Chansey couldn’t die and did tons of damage with its one offensive ability.

“I just walked 4 blocks around my neighborhood [at 10 p.m.] looking for Pokémon.”

To be honest, I’d mostly forgotten about Pokémon Go. I’d heard about it ages ago, and the concept sounded really cool. What else could 10-year-old me have wanted in a game other than to actually go outside and find Pokémon?

“He asked me to take a walk with him. I knew in my heart it was so he could catch Pokemon ‪#‎wifeofanerd‬ ‪#‎pokemongo‬

My wife has been trying to make sure she at least walks every day at this point in her pregnancy, so I’ve been able to hatch an egg and find some new critters on our nightly walks (it’s mostly Rattatas, though). We were basically doing this anyway, but it’s added an incentive to visit the Pokéstops and hunt down side streets.

If you haven’t heard of Pokémon Go, it’s a digital app that uses your device’s GPS to map out your world and spawn Pokémon. You can visit different places to find additional items or different types of Pokémon, eventually battling other trainers at Gyms in your local area. Even better, it’s completely free, aside from whatever data you use and how quickly you’ll burn through your batteries.

I haven’t gotten too far into the game yet; I’ve evolved a couple and caught maybe 25 or so, just hitting level 5 today and qualifying to be able to go to Gyms. I haven’t actually visited any of those yet, so I don’t know what that experience will be, but I’ve also been discussing it with a lot of people. It seems almost universal in my age bracket that people like it, but I’ve also seen a lot of high schoolers involved with it as well.

Tonight, I found a Pidgey with a Combat Power of 77. That seems high–I think it’s the highest I’ve seen on one, though I’m not completely sure. Unfortunately, the one Pokéball I managed to land didn’t stick, and that was my last one. I need to hit some Pokéstops soon.

This post doesn’t have any really deep message or conclusions, but I am playing this game. It’s fun, and I think the concept is outstanding. If you’re reading this post, you’re probably having fun with it, too–unless you’re in one of the many countries of the world where it hasn’t released, which is most of them. My condolences to you.

Anyway, I’ll leave you with this–not my content.

Author: lpivellius

I am a gamer of all kinds. Sometimes I write about them.

Leave a Reply

